Orders for December boxes close Nov 30. Last day for christmas delivery dec 11th (as per Australia post).

The January Luxuread Box

The January Luxuread Box

January 12, 2020

Happy New Year, everyone! It's here: our January box! Here's a look at each book, its synopsis, and a little bit about our accompanying gift. 
Our product this month was the Summer scent spray from Urban Rituelle
With delicate lotus blossoms, powdery musk & sprinkle of sweetened coconut, this spray is sure to whisk you away from your everyday to a beachy, relaxing paradise. It's the perfect size to pop in your handbag, and great for a summer getaway!
Urban Rituelle was founded in Sydney by husband & wife team Scott & Leanne in 1999 and they have gone from strength to strength since, becoming one of our go-to’s for home fragrances and more!
Here are our January book selections...
General Fiction: A Tall History of Sugar, by Curdella Forbes.
A haunting epic following an unusual couple's mysterious love affair from childhood to adulthood, across rural Jamaica, Kingston and England.
Discovered amidst a tangle of sea grape trees by the childless Rachel Fisher, baby Moshe's provenance is a thing of myth and mystery; his unusual appearance, with blueish, translucent skin and duo-toned hair, only serves to compound his mystique.

Equally feared and ridiculed by peers as he grows up, he finds a surprising kindred soul in the striking and bold Arrienne Christie, but their complex relationship is fraught with obstacles that tear them apart as powerfully as they are drawn together.

Beginning in the late 1950s, four years before Jamaica's independence from colonial rule, and ending in the era of Brexit and Donald Trump, A Tall History of Sugar's epic love story sweeps between a rural Jamaica, scarred by the legacies of colonialism, and an England increasingly riven by race riots and class division.
Fantasy: Blood Heir, by Amelie Wen Zhao

BLOOD HEIR is the first book in an epic new series about a princess hiding a dark secret and the conman she must trust to clear her name of murder.

Princess Anastacya Mikhailov of Cyrilia has lived her life in safety, hidden behind palace walls. But when she is framed for her father's brutal murder, she must leave behind everything she has ever known to find his killer and prove her innocence. And there is only one person corrupt enough to help her – Ramson Quicktongue.
A cunning, silver-tongued crime lord of the Cyrilian underworld, Ramson has his own sinister plans – though he might have met his match in Ana. Because in this story, the princess might be the most dangerous player of them all.
Crime/Thriller: Hold Your Tongue, by Deborah Masson

In the run up to Christmas, a serial killer stalks the streets of Aberdeen . . .

A brutal murder.
A young woman’s body is discovered with horrifying injuries, a recent newspaper cutting pinned to her clothing.
A detective with everything to prove.
This is her only chance to redeem herself.
A serial killer with nothing to lose.
He’s waited years, and his reign of terror has only just begun . . .

Introducing DI Eve Hunter, HOLD YOUR TONGUE is your new obsession.

 

True Crime: Talking with Psychopaths and Savages: A Journey into the Evil Mind, by Christopher Berry-Dee

Look around you, because the person sitting next to you could be a cold, heartless murderer...a chilling look deep inside the minds of some of the most pitiless and dangerous people alive.

Bestselling author and criminologist Christopher Berry-Dee takes readers deep inside the dark minds of some of the most pitiless and dangerous people alive.

Having spent years interviewing imprisoned criminals - including notorious serial killers - he discovered that the lack of remorse these people showed was in many ways even more terrifying than the crimes they had committed. Yet in the course of these conversations, the author also had the chance to interview his subjects' psychiatrists and, in doing so, uncovered a terrible truth: a monster can be hidden behind a friendly face. Some of these experts, he found, proved to have more in common with their patients than he would ever have expected.

This book examines horrific crimes committed by some of the most remorseless and merciless people ever to have lived. If it reveals a mindset wholly alien to most people, it also, shockingly, demonstrates that some of the people who treat these psychopaths have their own demons. This chilling study of darkest of criminal minds will inevitably shift the reader's view of psychopaths, and in doing so, reveals that horror can be much closer to us than we think...

Biography/Memoir: Acid for the Children, Flea

Flea, the iconic bassist and co-founder, alongside Anthony Kiedis, of the immortal Red Hot Chili Peppers finally tells his fascinating origin story, complete with all the dizzying highs and the gutter lows you'd expect from an LA street rat turned world-famous rock star.

The strange tale of a boy named Flea starts in Rye, NY. It was all very normal. But soon his parents divorced and his mother Patricia remarried a jazz musician. Flea's stepfather frequently invited musicians to his house for jam sessions which sparked Flea's interest in music. The family moved to Los Angeles, where Flea became fascinated with the trumpet, idolizing musicians like Miles, Dizzy, and Louis.

But the family soon fell apart, "I was raised in a very violent, alcoholic household," Flea later said. "I grew up being terrified of my parents, particularly my father figures. It caused [me] a lot of trouble later in life." He began smoking weed at 13, and became a daily user of harder drugs. He was on the streets by 14 and soon after, met another social outcast and drug user named Anthony Kiedis. They form a band that would become the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

ACID FOR THE CHILDREN is pure, uncut Flea, with nothing left unsaid.

 

Romance: The Olive Garden Choir, by Leah Fleming

An evocative novel of secrets, love and redemption under the Greek sun. Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall and Julia Gregson.

They have come to Santaniki for different reasons. Some with a dream of happiness. Some running from sadness and failure. But all of them have fallen in love with this most beautiful of Greek islands. When bossy retired bookseller, Ariadne Blunt, suggests that the English residents form a choir, she did not expect it would unleash quite so much drama. Secrets surface, old rivalries spring up, new friendships are formed and passions are rekindled.

In this bittersweet tale of love and loss, people quite literally find their voices – showing that life can begin again when you let go of the past.



Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Luxuread Blog

November 2020 Box
November 2020 Box

November 17, 2020

The November Luxuread Box is here - perfect for gifts for birthdays, anniversaries, Christmas, or just because!

Read More

The October 2020 Luxuread Box
The October 2020 Luxuread Box

October 08, 2020

October 2020 Box reveal...check out our amazing book selections, and our featured product!

Read More

June Luxuread Book Box
June Luxuread Book Box

June 16, 2020

Read More

Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/newsletter-popup2.liquid