Our November 2019 Box

Our November 2019 Box

November 08, 2019 19 Comments

Well here she is: our new-look box!
Luxuread November Box
We’re super excited to send out our new boxes this month and have loved hearing the initial feedback - you ladies are loving it!
Here’s a detailed look at our selections this month...
Our General Fiction pick - ‘The Was Still Love’ by Favel Parrett
Prague, 1938: Eva flies down the street from her sister. Suddenly a man steps out, a man wearing a hat. Eva runs into him, hits the pavement hard. His hat is in the gutter. His anger slaps Eva, but his hate will change everything, as war forces so many lives into small, brown suitcases.
Prague, 1980: No one sees Ludek. A young boy can slip right under the heavy blanket that covers this city - the fear cannot touch him. Ludek is free. And he sees everything. The world can do what it likes. The world can go to hell for all he cares because Babi is waiting for him in the warm flat. His whole world.
Melbourne, 1980: Mala Li ka's grandma holds her hand as they climb the stairs to their third floor flat. Inside, the smell of warm pipe tobacco and homemade cakes. Here, Mana and Bill have made a life for themselves and their granddaughter. A life imbued with the spirit of Prague and the loved ones left behind.
Favel Parrett's deep emotional insight and stellar literary talent shine through in this love letter to the strong women who bind families together, despite dislocation and distance. It is a tender and beautifully told story of memory, family and love. Because there is still love. No matter what.
 
Our Crime/Thriller selection - ‘Tuesday Mooney Wore Black’ by Kate Racculia
Tuesday Mooney loves a puzzle. So when an eccentric billionaire drops dead, leaving behind a fiendish treasure hunt – open to anyone – to his fortune, Tuesday can't resist.
Although she works best alone, she soon finds herself partnering up with best friend Dex (money manager by day, karaoke-zealot by night) and the mysterious Nathanial Arches, eldest son of a wealthy family who held a long-running feud with the dead man.
As the clues are solved, excitement across the city reaches fever pitch – but nothing is as it seems, and the puzzle-within-a-puzzle holds something much darker than a vast fortune at its heart...
 
Our November Fantasy book - ‘Ninth House’ by Leigh Bardugo
The mesmerizing adult debut from #1 New York Times bestselling author Leigh Bardugo
Galaxy 'Alex' Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale's freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead-end jobs, and much, much worse. By age twenty, she is the sole survivor of a horrific, unsolved multiple homicide. Some might say she's thrown her life away. But at her hospital bed, Alex is offered a second chance: to attend one of the world's most elite universities on a full ride. What's the catch, and why her?
Still searching for answers, Alex arrives in New Haven tasked by her mysterious benefactors with monitoring the activities of Yale's secret societies, well-known to be haunts of the future rich and powerful. But their occult activities are revealed to be more sinister and more extraordinary than she ever imagined . . .
Welcome to a world of secret societies and the occult that's perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness, Neil Gaiman, Susanna Clarke and Ben Aaronovitch.
 
Our Romance pick - ‘The Widow of Rose House’ by Diana Biller
A young widow restores a dilapidated mansion with the assistance of a charming, eccentric genius, only to find the house is full of dangerous secrets in this effervescent Gilded Age debut novel
It’s 1875, and Alva Webster has perfected her stiff upper lip after three years of being pilloried in the presses of two continents over fleeing her abusive husband. Now his sudden death allows her to return to New York to make a fresh start, restoring Liefdehuis, a dilapidated Hyde Park mansion, and hopefully her reputation at the same time.
However, fresh starts aren’t as easy as they seem, as Alva discovers when stories of a haunting at Liefdehuis begin to reach her. But Alva doesn’t believe in ghosts. So when the eccentric and brilliant professor Samuel Moore appears and informs her that he can get to the bottom of the mystery that surrounds Liefdehuis, she turns him down flat. She doesn’t need any more complications in her life—especially not a handsome, convention-flouting, scandal-raising one like Sam. Unfortunately, though Alva is loath to admit it, Sam, a pioneer in electric lighting and a member of the nationally-adored Moore family of scientists, is the only one who can help. Together, the two delve into the tragic secrets wreathing Alva’s new home while Sam attempts to unlock Alva’s history—and her heart.
Set during the Gilded Age in New York City, The Widow of Rose House is a gorgeous debut by Diana Biller, with a darkly Victorian Gothic flair and an intrepid and resilient American heroine guaranteed to delight readers.
 
And introducing our first of the two new genres on offer:
True Crime - ‘The Killing in the Consulate’ by Jonathon Rugman
After Washington Post journalist Jamal Khashoggi was filmed going in to the Saudi consulate in Turkey, he was never seen alive again. What happened next turned into a major international scandal, now finally pieced together by Channel 4's BAFTA award-winning Foreign Affairs Correspondent Jonathan Rugman.

Described by Donald Trump as the 'worst cover-up ever', this is the first comprehensive account of one of the most notorious and outrageous murder plots of our time. In The Killing in the Consulate, Rugman pieces together in minute-by-minute detail the events after Khashoggi entered the Saudi diplomatic building on 2 October 2018, expecting to receive the documentation that would enable him to marry Hatice Gengiz, patiently waiting for him outside. Little did they realise, he was entering a trap, as a 15-man Saudi hit squad had just flown in to the country and was waiting for him. Within minutes he had been viciously murdered and his body was quickly disposed of. The Saudis thought they would be able to get away with it all, and concocted a far-fetched story to cover it up. But what they didn't realise was that Turkey's President Erdogan's security and intelligence agencies had bugged the consulate, and captured the horrific events on tape.
 
Based on confidential sources, dramatic new evidence and in-depth research across several countries, Rugman reveals the context behind the murder and attempted cover-up. He shows how a power struggle between Erdogan and Saudi Arabia's Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman, known as MBS, had such fatal results. The prince had seemed to promise a new and more open era for his country, while also investing vast sums in arms deals with the West. Inevitably other nations, including President Trump and the USA, were drawn into the affair, which created the biggest crisis in US-Saudi relations since 9/11. Skilfully, Rugman draws together all the strands to tell a gripping story of one man's tragedy that had global consequences
And our other new genre: 
Biography/Memoir - ‘Travel Light, Move Fast’ by Alexandra Fuller
From the bestselling author of Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight, the utterly original story of her father, Tim Fuller, and a deeply felt tribute to a life well lived.
After her father's sudden death, Alexandra Fuller realizes that if she is going to weather his loss, she will need to become the parts of him she misses most. So begins Travel Light, Move Fast, the unforgettable story of Tim Fuller, a self-exiled black sheep who moved to Africa to fight in the Rhodesian War before settling as a banana farmer in Zambia. A man who preferred chaos to predictability, to revel in promise rather than wallow in regret, and was more afraid of becoming bored than of getting lost, he taught his daughters to live as if everything needed to happen altogether, all at once-or not at all. Now in the wake of his death, Fuller internalises his lessons with clear eyes, and celebrates a man who swallowed life whole.
A master of time and memory, Fuller moves seamlessly between the days and months following her father's death as she and her mother return to his farm with his ashes and contend with his overwhelming absence, and her childhood spent running after him in southern and central Africa. Writing of the rollicking grand misadventures of her mother and father, bursting with pandemonium and tragedy, Fuller takes their insatiable appetite for life to heart. Here, in Fuller's Africa, is a story of joy, resilience, and vitality, from one of our finest writers.
 
This month, we paired your book with a Soak Society Wellness Soak.
A Soak For Deep Beauty Sleep.
‘Sleep’ combines lavender and chamomile to calm your busy mind, oatmeal to moisturise, and white clay to soften skin. Soak right before bed to prepare you for a peaceful slumber.
 
Now how good is THAT! Enjoy!
xx


19 Responses

WAsHLXUfS
WAsHLXUfS

January 09, 2020

WUnoVkva

ImuLlvXnChJ
ImuLlvXnChJ

January 09, 2020

sGLoEThdtVflCr

dLnONWrsaGlMgQi
dLnONWrsaGlMgQi

January 03, 2020

ydaImZOMplDxqJ

EwmpNzVOkCjA
EwmpNzVOkCjA

January 03, 2020

XitFmWTVafPv

TtKLcDveA
TtKLcDveA

December 27, 2019

kFhCZldpEmQNgOY

JfCBhjzKNHOW
JfCBhjzKNHOW

December 27, 2019

CvlZBjacLYyRmr

FsEzoOMh
FsEzoOMh

December 27, 2019

BeUkHJTcl

weJIpKNROjvrxDcg
weJIpKNROjvrxDcg

December 27, 2019

HKNQzYmrveh

gUnGoZRByzTY
gUnGoZRByzTY

December 20, 2019

VgKBeNyzpva

FXGDcoTzdAnltRv
FXGDcoTzdAnltRv

December 20, 2019

FRDCqnsY

eMHoUcqjPnI
eMHoUcqjPnI

December 19, 2019

EbiGrzQjJFHKWd

aQDkIxEXZ
aQDkIxEXZ

December 19, 2019

ZNiVfnbMxSkDpTcr

OeVKaGPRTzyHWmhU
OeVKaGPRTzyHWmhU

December 18, 2019

PxeaZoOicmy

lMcPtnWjSrbikdVK
lMcPtnWjSrbikdVK

December 18, 2019

zDBfWdFusVThGL

vVajXPZrCmgEDbw
vVajXPZrCmgEDbw

December 17, 2019

SLPcGAwM

GdWtkTDwu
GdWtkTDwu

December 16, 2019

MmZrgzuObE

PvezAZcnGVWdDNUp
PvezAZcnGVWdDNUp

December 16, 2019

zNiJcpms

aTcAQiURFxIsYDH
aTcAQiURFxIsYDH

December 11, 2019

DAOTGdfXwr

RbduLVUqX
RbduLVUqX

December 11, 2019

XwtGrFjYSbImUC

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Luxuread Blog

The February Luxuread Box
The February Luxuread Box

February 12, 2020

Our February Book Box reveal

Read More

The January Luxuread Box
The January Luxuread Box

January 12, 2020

Have a peek inside our January Luxuread Box, complete with book synopses!

Read More

The Luxuread 2019 Wrap Up | All our books from the last twelve months
The Luxuread 2019 Wrap Up | All our books from the last twelve months

January 05, 2020 4 Comments

A wrap-up of our 2019 Luxuread books for each Luxuread books, across all our genres.

Read More

Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/newsletter-popup2.liquid