Luxuread October 2019 Box

Luxuread October 2019 Box

November 06, 2019

This is our last monthly box in this format before we switch over! 
Luxuread October 2019 box
We’ve loved putting this box together for you...here’s a rundown of what we’ve selected for you:

General Fiction - ‘Taking Tom Murray Home', by Tim Slee
The winner of the inaugural Banjo Prize, Taking Tom Murray Home is a funny, moving, bittersweet Australian story of fires, families and the restorative power of community.

Bankrupt dairy farmer Tom Murray decides he'd rather sell off his herd and burn down his own house than hand them over to the bank. But something goes tragically wrong, and Tom dies in the blaze. His wife, Dawn, doesn't want him to have died for nothing and decides to hold a funeral procession for Tom as a protest, driving 350 kilometres from Yardley in country Victoria to bury him in Melbourne where he was born. To make a bigger impact she agrees with some neighbours to put his coffin on a horse and cart and take it slow - real slow.

But on the night of their departure, someone burns down the local bank. And as the motley funeral procession passes through Victoria, there are more mysterious arson attacks. Dawn has five days to get to Melbourne. Five days, five more towns, and a state ready to explode in flames ...

Told with a laconic, deadpan wit, Taking Tom Murray Home is a timely, thought-provoking, heart-warming, quintessentially Australian story like no other. It's a novel about grief, pain, anger and loss, yes, but it's also about hope - and how community, friends and love trump pain and anger, every time.
 
Crime - ‘A Shadow on the Lens', by Sam Hurcom
A stifling, atmospheric gothic crime novel with a unique protagonist and killer twist - for fans of The Woman in Black, The Silent Companions and Little Strangers.

The Postmaster looked over my shoulder. As I turned to look I saw a flicker of movement from across the street. I felt unseen eyes peer at me. He walked away without another word. I watched as he climbed onto his bicycle and sped away down the street. I turned back and looked over my shoulder.
Someone had been watching us.


1904. Thomas Bexley, one of the first forensic photographers, is called to the sleepy and remote Welsh village of Dinas Powys, several miles down the coast from the thriving port of Cardiff. A young girl by the name of Betsan Tilny has been found murdered in the woodland - her body bound and horribly burnt. But the crime scene appears to have been staged, and worse still: the locals are reluctant to help.

As the strange case unfolds, Thomas senses a growing presence watching him, and try as he may, the villagers seem intent on keeping their secret. Then one night, in the grip of a fever, he develops the photographic plates from the crime scene in a makeshift darkroom in the cellar of his lodgings. There, he finds a face dimly visible in the photographs; a face hovering around the body of the dead girl - the face of Betsan Tilny.

Fantasy - ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January', by Alix E Harrow
Every Story Opens a Door

In a house filled with exotic treasures, January Scaller feels all too similar to the artefacts that decorate the shelves: a treasured object, carefully maintained yet utterly out of place. Largely ignored by her guardian, she spends her days reading about all the far-flung places she can only dream of visiting.

But her quiet existence is shattered when she stumbles across a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story that might just be the key to unlocking the secrets of her past.
 
Romance - ‘The Summer of Sunshine & Margot', by Susan Mallery
The Baxter sisters come from a long line of women with disastrous luck in love. But this summer, Sunshine and Margot will turn disasters into destiny…

As an etiquette coach, Margot teaches her clients to fit in. But she’s never faced a client like Bianca, an aging movie star who gained fame—and notoriety—through a campaign of shock and awe. Schooling Bianca on the fine art of behaving like a proper diplomat’s wife requires intensive lessons, forcing Margot to move into the monastery turned mansion owned by the actress’s intensely private son. Like his incredible home, Alec’s stony exterior hides secret depths Margot would love to explore. But will he trust her enough to let her in?

Sunshine has always been the good-time sister, abandoning jobs to chase after guys who used her, then threw her away. No more. She refuses to be “that girl” again. This time, she’ll finish college, dedicate herself to her job as a nanny, and she 100 percent will not screw up her life again by falling for the wrong guy. Especially not the tempting single dad who also happens to be her boss.

Master storyteller Susan Mallery weaves threads of family drama, humor, romance and a wish-you-were-there setting into one of the most satisfying books of the year!
 
And also featuring:
- Hand mixed museli x 2, by Inna Muse
- Manicure Kit, by Suda
- All natural face mask pod, by Andalou Naturals
 
Please note picture shows all four genre books - only the genre you select will be shipped. 


Leave a comment


Also in Luxuread Blog

Our November 2019 Box
Our November 2019 Box

November 08, 2019

Have a closer look at our November 2019 new-look box

Read More

We're changing things up at Luxuread!
We're changing things up at Luxuread!

October 02, 2019

Look what we've been working on!

Read More

Luxuread September Box
Luxuread September Box

September 06, 2019

We reveal our September box selections!

Read More

Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/newsletter-popup2.liquid