Search Luxuread

New snacks on sale now for a limited time! Use code NEW for 15% off.

Five books to buy for the father figure in your life

With Father's Day around the corner, never has there been a better time to treat the father-figure in your life to a brilliant new book. The ultimate gift for book lovers, from an unputdownable thriller to a captivating memoir, read on for our top picks from our book subscription box back catalogue.

Billy Summers by Stephen King

Billy Summers is a man in a room with a gun. He’s a killer for hire and the best in the business. But he’ll do the job only if the target is a truly bad guy. And now Billy wants out. But first there is one last hit. Billy is among the best snipers in the world, a decorated Iraq war vet, a Houdini when it comes to vanishing after the job is done. So what could possibly go wrong?

How about everything. Buy Billy King here.

Still by Matt Nable

An evocative, confronting and page-turning thriller from a brilliant Australian writer, Still by Matt Nable is perfect for fans of The Dry and Scrublands, and will offer readers across Australia a captivating glimpse into the goings-on one hot Summer in Darwin. Buy Still here.

Dirty Gold by Jay Weaver, Nicholas Nehamas, Jim Wyss and Kyra Gurney

The explosive story of the illegal gold trade from South America, and the three Miami businessmen who got rich on it, Dirty Gold is a must-read for anyone who wants a behind-the-scenes look into a criminal underworld that has never before been in full view. Buy Dirty Gold here

The Last Guests by J. P. Pomare

In this thrilling new novel for fans of Megan Miranda, a wife finds herself racing for answers when the decision to rent out her family vacation home takes a deadly turn. A brilliant thriller from best-selling author of Call Me Evie and In The Clearing, The Last Guests will provide endless entertainment for the father-figure in your life. Buy The Last Guests here

Gun to the Head by Keith Banks

From the bestselling author of Drugs, Guns & Lies, comes Keith's story of what it was really like to be a tactical police officer in the violent and corrupt eighties. Raw and confronting, Gun to the Head exposes a world of policing that few have lived. Buy Gun to the Head here.